Wednesday, December 9, 2009

It's December already? How about some contests?

I cannot believe it is December already. I was told by other writer friends that a debut year would fly by. They weren't kidding. The fact that I haven't really slept much since, oh... I dunno, 2008, that might be part of it too. :) But I love this time of year, Halloween-into-Christmas tends to be a giddy time that always flys by too quickly, but it's also when I tend to get a lot of writing done, inspired by Autumn and sustained by the deep, spiritual meaning of the Holiday Season.

In the realm of books, fluffy animals, the undead and such, here goes the latest:

As always, a wonderful time was had at Lady Jane's Salon, where my fellow co-founder Hope Tarr beautifully led us in a celebration of Harlequin Enterprises' 60th Birthday and read from her charming Twelve Nights. Stacey Agdern shared her Hannukah novel Rededication with us, and Madame X was, as always, a gracious hostess of a venue! Check out Kwana Writes for a lovely rundown, thanks Kwana!

CONTEST NEWS:
I've contest news galore!
Firstly:
1.
Congratulations to Sharla who won the Dark Nest goody box via my website's Dark Nest contest! (Pictured here: Leanna's random selection process via fluffy animal named Persebunny. After winner has been selected, Leanna rushes to read name before consumption - very scientific randomization method)

2. And now, I've got a NEW CONTEST!

In celebration of the very wonderful news that my bestselling debut, The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker is now in audio format, I'm giving away a copy, it's an 8 CD set! Along with some Mt. Meru Coffee, this is a great holiday gift for yourself or others. :) It's easy to enter, just tell me your favourite holiday song via the Contact Form of my website and you're entered to win! Winner drawn December 20th. Visit the Contest page and check it out!

3. I'm thrilled to be a part of The SFR Holiday Blitz! My 2009 Prism Award winning novella Dark Nest (a futuristic fantasy novella) is only one of the many Sci-Fi-Romance books you can win by participating! You can enter to win a copy of Dark Nest, given to Take it to the Stars to run the giveaway - You have until December 11th - and visit The Galaxy Express (this is definately a blog to follow) to get the rundown on the many blogs and authors participating in this great SFR event!!

4. I'm close to 500 followers on Twitter, once I hit that magic 500, I'll be giving away 2 signed copies of The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker to two of my loyal tweeps. So join me there to participate. If you already have a signed Miss Percy, well, here's your chance to win one for a gift and help spread Strangely Beautiful cheer!

-- While we're in the holiday spirit, take a Facebook moment and see if your favourite Not For Profits are in the Chase Community Giving program. You can vote for 20 organizations, for several chances to win funds, might I suggest you vote for my beloved friend Danny's exciting new theatre company in Chicago, The New Colony? It's a new and up-and-coming theatre devoted to new work and new talent! (Listed as New Colony nfp when you type it into the search bar).
IN STRANGELY BEAUTIFUL NEWS:

1. I turned in the revisions to the Strangely Beautiful sequel, The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker, (April 27, 2010). I'm really, really excited about it. I can't wait to share it with all of you. Now I'm hard at work on a novella which continues the Strangely Beautiful series, to be published in a Fantasy Christmas anthology headlined by one of my idols, NYT Bestseller C. L. Wilson! (October 2010) Fans of Headmistress Thompson and Vicar Carroll will be pleased.

2. The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker made Waiting For Fairies' Holiday Gift Guide! Thanks Melissa, and Waiting For Fairies!

Do stay tuned, The Darkly Luminous Fight For Persephone Parker will have its book trailer going live in January, along with some first peek excerpts!

Be sure to enter the contest and have a BEAUTIFUL, GORGEOUS, BLESSED DECEMBER with your family, friends and loved ones! I'll be back to announce the winner of the contest and to wish everyone happy holidays.

Blessings!

4 comments:

Brooke Reviews said...

Great news! Congrats on the audio book. I'd love to hear it. Can't wait to read the sequel as well. *sigh* so far away! hehe

RKCharron said...

Hi Leanna :)
Thank you for the update and the giveaways. I hope you get 500 Followers soon. I'm glad the sequel is coming along great.
Happy Holidays
Rob

Kwana said...

Congrats on the audio book. I just love audio books. Go you!
Thanks for the shoutout too. You know how I love Lady Jane's.

robenamunroe0513 said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.